BECHTELSVILLE, PA. July 21, 2019 . . .  The action on the track on Saturday night at Grandview Speedway was as hot as the weather that everyone involved endured to be a witness or participate in the racing action sponsored by T.P. Trailers and Truck Equipment, Limerick.

Doug “The Handler” Manmiller, whose season has been a series of various obstacles with his best finish, a second place, recorded back in May, finally had a change of luck. He chased down leader Ron Kline for several laps trying to dive underneath him, but to no avail. Finally with four laps to go Manmiller made his move and was successful. He never looked back until he parked the Jason Miller-owned No. 44M in victory lane for his first win of the season to be the seventh different winner, his last victory coming July 14, 2018, in the 30-lap TP Trailers NASCAR 358 Modified feature

The T.P. Truck Equipment NASCAR Sportsman 25-lap feature was a nail biter decided at the finish line. Leader Chris Esposito and Kyle Lilick were side-by-side coming out of the fourth turn headed for the winner’s circle. They swapped paint and Lilick, winless since June 16, 2018, emerged victorious to become the tenth different winner in the division this season.

Tyler Ross led from start to finish to win his first-ever career victory in the 25-lap United Racing Club feature sponsored by Victory Glass.

Providing the Modified and Sportsman feature winners met the necessary requirements, they received monetary awards from T.P. Trailers and a certificate from VP Fuels for product awards. The Dan’s Deli ½-way hoagie award recipients were Ron Kline and Chris Esposito. Parker Guldin, who finished 12th in the Sportsman feature received an extra $100 from the track for racing with the first crate engine.

Modified feature action saw Kline overtake Steve Wilson for the top spot on the second lap while Brett Gilmore, Louden Reimert and Clay Butler battled for positions behind them.

The red was thrown on the seventh lap for a multi-car accident in the second turn. Eliminated were Joe Funk III, who had his best finish last week with a third, last week’s feature winner Dylan Swinehart, Jeff Strunk and Kyle Weiss. Kline maintained the lead when action resumed followed by Wilson, Butler, Manmiller and Gilmore.

By the ½-way marker Kline was still first, but the battle for second was a three-way one between Butler, Manmiller and Duane Howard, who started sixth, 12th and 14th respectively.

Manmiller motored into the runner-up spot on the 22nd lap to pursue Kline.

Kline stayed on the high path while Manmiller was trying to dive underneath, but couldn’t make the pass stick while Howard, Craig Von Dohren, coming from 19th and Frank Cozze, starting ninth were anticipating a false move.

The third lead change took place on the 26th lap when Manmiller was able to pass Kline.

Manmiller never surrendered, holding the top spot until the checkered was thrown. Howard moved into second with two laps to go, but time ran out with Kline, Von Dohren and Cozze crossing the line for third through fifth.

Butler, Manmiller and Briggs Danner won the qualifying heats. The consi went to Mike Lisowski.

Esposito took the early lead at the wave of the green in the Sportsman feature.

Dicing for positions behind him were Derrick Smith, Jesse Landis, Dean Bachman and Mark Kemmerer.

The running order behind Esposito was constantly changing and by the 13th lap Kyle Smith, Kemmerer, Lilick and Bachman were second through fifth.

Lilick moved into second on the 16th lap and took chase after Esposito who had a slight lead built up.

Esposito’s distance was erased on the 19th lap when Ray Cost III spun in the fourth turn bringing out the yellow. Esposito running the outside groove pulled away quickly in anticipation of keeping Lilick, running the inside groove, behind him.

Nathan Mohr and Tom Miller, a previous feature winner, set up a one-lap shoot-out when they tangled in the first turn. Esposito managed to stay ahead, but Lilick was far from ready to give up.

The checkered flag was in sight and it was a drag race towards the finish line with neither one giving an inch while they swapped paint. At the conclusion, Lilick was the victor by mere inches with Esposito a disappointing second since he led all laps but the most important one – the last lap. Kemmerer was third followed by Brightbill, last week’s feature winner and K. Smith.

Heats were won by Jack Butler, Landis and Esposito.

Tyler Ross, the pole sitter of the URC feature, was off and running at the start with Ed Aikin, Curt Michaels, Adam Carberry and Troy Betts in tow.

Michaels took over second on the fifth lap to try to become the new leader.

Carberry’s third-place run ended on the 12th lap when his car was smoking and he slowed to bring out the yellow. Ross was still the leader on the restart, but now Josh Weller was pursuing him for first followed by Michaels, Aikin and Betts.

Ross never allowed anyone the opportunity to take the lead away and went on to score the win with Weller, Michaels, Aikin and Betts following.

Carberry, Aikin and Ross were the heat winners.

Something for fans look for on the TV Wednesday, July 24 is the NBCSN segment titled “50 States in 50 Days” at 5 p.m. which will feature Grandview Speedway as part of their Grassroots racing campaign. Kyle Petty and Clint Bowyer will be on the show and Petty has appeared at Grandview in the past as did his father Richard Petty.

Coming up on the schedule on Friday, July 26th is Big Car Enduro action along with Small Car Enduro, Junkyard Car Race, Outlaw 4x4 Trucks and the Blast From the Past Vintage racers. It all gets started at 7 p.m.

And on Saturday, July 27th, 7:30 p.m. another tripleheader show of racing action that features the T.P.Trailers NASCAR 358 Modifieds, T.P.Truck Equipment Sportsman and the return of the Central PA Legends racers for a second appearance.


T.P. Trailers Modified Feature (30-laps): 1. Doug Manmiller, 2. Duane Howard, 3. Ron Kline, 4. Craig Von Dohren, 5. Frank Cozze, 6. Brett Kressley, 7. Clay Butler, 8. Kevin Hirthler, 9. Rick Laubach, 10. Brett Gilmore, 11. Briggs Danner, 12. Mike Lisowski, 13. Louden Reimert, 14. Ryan Grim, 15. Steve Wilson, 16. Alex Yankowski, 17. Glenn Strunk, 18. Tim Buckwalter, 19. Dan Waisempacher, 20. Justin Grim, 21. Ray Swinehart, 22. Kyle Weiss, 23. Jeff Strunk, 24. Dylan Swinehart, 25. Joe Funk III, 26. Eric Biehn, 27. Jared Umbenhauer, 28. Kenny Gilmore. DNQ: Richie Hitzler, Bobby Gunther Walsh, Craig Whitmoyer, Mark Levy and Mark Kratz.

T.P. Truck Equipment Sportsman Feature (25-laps): 1. Kyle Lilick, 2. Chris Esposito, 3. Mark Kemmerer, 4. Brad Brightbill, 5. Kyle Smith, 6. Dean Bachman, 7. Brad Grim, 8. Andrew Kreis, 9. Brian Hirthler, 10. Jesse Landis, 11. Lex Shive, 12. Parker Guldin, (crate engine), 13. Tom Miller, 14. Nathan Mohr, 15. Ray Cost III, 16. Josh Adams, 17. Brad Arnold, 18. Derrick Smith, 19. B.J. Joy, 20. Steve Young, 21. Mike Mammana, 22. Jack Butler. DNS: Mike Koffel.

Victory Glass URC Feature (25-laps): 1. Tyler Ross, 2. Josh Weller, 3. Curt Michael, 4. Ed Aikin, 5. Troy Betts, 6. Chad Layton, 7. Brian Carber, 8. Austin Bishop, 9. Steve Drevicki, 10. Ryan Stillwagon, 11. Jason Clauss, 12. Zach Burd, 13. Adam Carberry, 14. Jimmy Stitzel, 15. J.J. Grasso, 16. Craig Pelligrini, 17. J.R. Berry, 18. Jon Steward, 19. Conner Leffler, 20. Jason Shultz, 21. Brandon McGough.

Copyright © 2020-2024 Grandview Speedway. All Rights Reserved. Designed & Maintained by Snyder Web Design.