Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 1947;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Sunday, May 18, 2014

BECHTELSVILLE, PA.  Mother Nature finally cooperated after two consecutive weeks of rain and racing returned to the 1/3-mile high banks of Grandview Speedway on Saturday night  with all the excitement being telecast on RCN-TV.

 Seven time and defending Modified champion Craig VonDohren of Oley, PA took his first win of the season in the 30-lap NASCAR 358 Modified feature race while Brett Kressley, who calls Orefield, PA home, won his second 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature race of the season. Sam Schlosberg, Green Lane, PA, earned his first 25-lap Late Model feature victory.

 NASCAR stock car racing action returns to Grandview Speedway on Saturday (May 24) at 7:30 p.m. when Whelen Engineering presents a tripleheader card of 358 Modified, Late Model and Sportsman racing action. WEEU-830AM will broadcast the racing live.

In the Saturday night action Doug Manmiller appeared to have left off where his streak was snapped before the weather intervened and was two laps short of winning his fourth NASCAR Whelen All-American Series 30-lap Modified feature.

Fate wouldn’t have it that way since Manmiller, left with nowhere to go, got collected by the spinning car of Kyle Follweiler when he exited the third turn bringing out the caution.

Defending point champion Craig VonDohren, who started 22nd after winning the consi, was second and now inherited the lead. He kept his self-owned, Beartown Recycling/K.L. Harring Transportation No. 1C in front until he pulled into victory lane for his first win of the season to become the fourth different winner in 2014.

“I was almost ready to give up after an early heat incident made me mad and forced me to miss the invert, commented VonDohren, but I just kept digging as my car was loose, but then got tight when I changed my line. It was a shame for Doug, but that’s part of the game.” His efforts netted him $2500, plus $250 from T.P. Trailers, Limerick and $150 from VP Fuels for running VP gas.

Ron Seltmann Jr. set the pace at the wave of the green.

The red was thrown on the third lap when Bobby Gunther-Walsh spun in turn four. Cars scrambled and Andy Ressler rolled. Also involved were Duane Howard, Jeff Strunk and Ray Swinehart. All drivers were uninjured and able to continue except Gunther-Walsh and Ressler. On the restart Seltmann Jr.was still in command trailed by Jon Kellner, Manmiller, who started 15th; Kevin Hirthler and Kyle Weiss.

Kellner became the new leader on the second fifth lap restart. First Mike Laise, Tommy Scheetz III and Mike Gular, the point leader going into the event, tangled in the third turn with Gular and Scheetz III eliminated. The next try saw a fourth turn accident that involved Mike Kellner, Don Norris Jr. and Eric Biehn.

Manmiller, seeking his fourth win of the season,cleared Seltmann Jr. on the tenth lap and set sail after Kellner. Manmiller closed in on Kellner by the 20th lap and the pair engaged in a fierce side-by-side battle that made for some great RCN-TV action.

A new leader emerged on the 21st lap when Manmiller cleared Kellner to show the way.

Behind Manmiller and Kellner, VonDohren and Hirthler had their own race for third with Weiss in the mix.

With two laps to go, Follweiler was already spinning when Manmiller came charging out of the third turn. Left with nowhere to go since he had a full head of steam built up, Manmiller collided with Follweiler and spun and both were eliminated for the final yellow.

Manmiller’s misfortune was a break for VonDohren running second and now the new leader.

VonDohren kept the Nick Gatto powered/PPB/Bicknell mount ahead the rest of the way to pull into the winner’s circle for his 88th career win. Posting second for his best finish of the season was Kellner followed by Howard, coming back after the third lap accident; Hirthler and Jordan Umbenhauer. Weiss, Ryan Grim, Swinehart, Strunk and Borror completed the top ten.

BRC Late Model action saw Sam Schlosberg become the new leader on the 19th lap after Wayne Pfeil’s engine finally expired after smoking heavily since the eighth lap. Schlosberg, who hadn’t won since August 10, 2013, held off Randy Stoudt’s bids to win the 25-lap feature in his unsponsored No. 70 to become the fourth different winner. Schlosberg had difficulty seeing since he ran out of tear-offs and kept smearing his helmet. He also received an additional $100 from TP Trailers, Limerick.

Pfeil wasted no time pulling away on the initial green trailed by Steve butler, Rick Todorow, Kory Fleming and Dan Green.

As heavy smoke bellowed from Pfeil’s car he still managed to build up a full straightway lead over the four-way battle for second between Butler, Fleming, Schlosberg and Todorow.

Schlosberg overtook second on the 14th lap and took chase after Pfeil.

On the 19th lap, Pfeil slowed in the first turn and headed to the infield, but the yellow was still thrown. Schlosberg was now the new leader and had his hands full with Stoudt’s bids.

Schlosberg held off all challengers and went on to claim the victory followed by Stoudt, Fleming, Chuck Schutz and Sean Merkel. Rounding out the top ten were Ron Kline, Jason Miller, John Giesler, Lou Egrie and Bill Henning.

The 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature had a bout of yellow fever. It certainly had plenty of action though as eventual winner Brett Kressley and runner-up Craig Whitmoyer raced side-by-side from the eighth lap with neither one giving up until the drop of the checkered. Kressley, who picked up his second win of the season, which he certainly earned, thanked Whitmoyer for racing him “clean” the entire time. Kressley also received $100 from T.P. Trailers.

 Whitmoyer took the early lead and one lap later the yellow was out when Guy Germano and Brandon Whitmoyer spun in the third turn. The restart was void for an 11-car fourth turn accident. The leader continued to be Whitmoyer when racing went green again.

 Kressley advanced to second on the sixth lap and set his sights on Whitmoyer. When Whitmoyer went high heading into the fourth turn, Kressley pulled a slider on him and overtook the lead. Whitmoyer didn’t give up though and the duo were door handle to door handle. Several times Whitmoyer tried to dive under Kressley, but couldn’t muster up enough power.

 Kressley, who “likes to run up top to get to the front,” held his line while Whitmoyer made several runs on the inside and despite all of valiant attempts to regain the lead, Kressley kept Whitmoyer behind him and went on to claim the win with Whitmoyer a close second. Gilmore, finished third a spot he overtook with five laps to go followed by Umbenhauer and Kaitie McCardle, for her best run of the season. Erik Renninger, Brian Hirthler, Jim Housworth, Ken Eckert Jr. and Joe Funk II were sixth through tenth.

 At the end of the night nine time track champion Jeff Strunk had 1422 points to lead the 358 Modified standings by just 11 points over Duane Howard. Randy Stoudt is tops in the Late Model standings by just 23 points over Chuck Schutz and Jared Umbenhauer has a 82 point lead over Brett Kressley in the battle for the Sportsman title.

 Special Awards

 Dan’s Deli ½-way leader award winners were Kellner, Modified; Wayne Pfeil, Late Model and Kressley, Sportsman.

 Cargo Trailers certificates went to Kyle Borror, Modified; Bill Henning, Late Model and Funk II, Sportsman.

 VP Racing Gasoline product awards went to the top finisher in each division using VP Racing Gasoline and carrying the proper VP decals and patches.

 Grandview Speedway is located on Passmore Road just off Route 100 in Bechtelsville, PA, 10 miles north of Pottstown. For information telephone 610.754.7688 or check in at